Select Board

Select Board's Duties:

The Select Board is composed of five members who are elected for overlapping three year terms. As specified in the Reading Home Rule Charter they are the Chief Elected Officers of the Town. The Select Board appoint a Town Manager who is responsible for the daily management of the Town, whose powers are specified in the Reading Home Rule Charter. The Select Board also appoints the Town Accountant and Town Counsel.

The Board holds its regular meetings on Tuesdays as indicated on the website calendar. Meetings are held at 7:00 pm in the Selectmen's Meeting Room at Town Hall. Agendas are posted on the Town's website on the Thursday before the meeting and the packets are posted on the website the Monday afternoon before the meeting. Mail may be sent to the Board members at the above street address, fax or email.

The Select Board call Town Elections and prepare the Warrants for Town Meetings and make recommendations on the Warrant Articles. They initiate legislative policy by inserting Articles in the Town Meeting Warrants and then implement the votes subsequently adopted. They adopt Town policies that can be found in the Select Board's Policies; review fiscal guidelines for the annual operating budget and capital improvements program and make recommendations to Town Meeting on the same. The Board of Selectmen serves as the Road Commissioners for the Town of Reading and oversees traffic issues and approves the Town's Traffic Rules and Regulations. In addition, the Board appoints members to most of the Town's Boards, Committees and Commissions.

The Select Board also serve as the licensing board responsible for issuing and renewing licenses for alcohol establishments, restaurants, car dealers, peddlers and entertainment and amusement devices.

Questions regarding activities of the Select Board may be directed to the office of the Town Manager at (781) 942-9043.

Email the Select Board


Select Board Members
MemberTittleTerm Expires
Barry C BermanVice ChairApril 2019
Daniel A EnsmingerSecretaryApril 2019
Andrew S FriedmannChairApril 2020
John R HalseyMemberApril 2020
Vanessa I AlvaradoMemberApril 2021


Official Board and Committee Members list posted by Town Clerk


Staff Contacts

Name Phone
Caitlin Saunders (781) 942-6644