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Information 
Applicants seeking a gun license or the renewal of an existing gun license are required to 
apply through the police department of the municipality in which they resident or own a 
business, with the exception of law enforcement personnel who may obtain a license 
through their agency. The Chief of Police of the Reading Police Department is authorized by 
state statute to issue four types of gun licenses, briefly described as follows:  
 

(1) License to Carry a Firearm: Commonly referred to as an “LTC,” this type of 
license is for the purchase and possession of state approved firearms, shotguns, 
and rifles and allows for concealed carry of a firearm. Must be at least 21 years old 
to apply. 
      
(2) Firearms Identification Card: Commonly referred to as an “FID Card,” this type 
is for the purchase and possession of state approved shotguns and rifles. 
Concealed carry is not allowed. Must be at least 14 years old to apply. 
  
(3) Restricted Firearms Identification Card: Chemical Propellant Only: A restricted 
FID Card is required for residents and business owners under the age of 18 in 
order to purchase and possess self-defense sprays such as mace or pepper spray. 
 
(4) License to Possess a Machine Gun: Commonly referred to as a “Machine Gun 
License,” this type of license is for the purchase and storage of machine guns. 
Licensees must be a Municipal Police Training Council Firearms Instructor, State 
Police Firearms Instructor or ATFB certified Collector of Curios and Relics in order 
to apply for this type of license. Must be at least 21 years old to apply. 
 

 
Licensing Process Overview 
All applicants, including renewals, must first submit a completed gun license application 
package to the licensing officer. Applications may be dropped off at the police station at any 
time or by mail, marked to the attention of “firearms licensing officer.” Once the application 
is received and verified complete, you will be contacted for an appointment with the 
firearms licensing officer. Appointments are generally conducted on Tuesdays on the hour 
with the first appointment of the day at 9:00 a.m. and the last at 3:00 p.m. During the 
appointment your licensing profile will be updated in our local records system and the state 
licensing system and you may need to be fingerprinted. In addition, payment for processing 
will be accepted in person at your appointment. Please do not submit payment with your 
application as there can be a significant amount of time between the submittal date and 
your appointment date.   
 
After your appointment, the licensing officer will conduct a background investigation to 
confirm that you are not statutorily disqualified or otherwise unsuitable for the license. The 
background investigation consists of records checks against the following sources: 
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   Applicant Name: _______________________________                   Applicant Cell: ________________________ 
      

   Applicant’s Age: _______________________________                   Applicant E-Mail:  _____________________ 
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Department of Mental Health’s Firearms Unit 
Massachusetts State Police’s Identification Section 
Federal Bureau of Investigation’s Fingerprint Unit 
Reading Police Department’s Records Management System  
Massachusetts Instant Records Check System 
Written Reference Letters Provided by the Applicant 
Written Reports from Police Encounters or Court Appearances (as necessary)  
 

Once the background investigation is completed the Chief of Police will determine whether 
the application will be approved or denied. If approved, a request for a license will be 
placed with the Firearms Record Bureau who will in turn print the license and mail it to 
the Reading Police Department. Once received, the license will be activated and issued to 
the applicant by mail. If the application is denied, the applicant will be notified formally in 
writing with an explanation citing the specific reasons for denial. Due to scheduling 
logistics, a sustained high volume of applicants, and the background investigation 
process, we encourage you to submit your applicant several months before the date you 
seek or expect to obtain licensure.  
 
Need More Information? 
You are encouraged to review the Massachusetts General Laws (especially Chapters 140 
and 265), and publications from the Firearms Record Bureau for more detailed 
information regarding gun law’s and gun crimes in the Commonwealth. This material is 
available online at “malegislature.gov” and “www.mass.gov/eopss/firearms-reg-and-
laws/frb/,” respectively. Further in this package there is also a listing of helpful telephone 
numbers and resources.  

 
Processing Fees 
License to Carry—New or Renewal—$100 
Firearms ID Card—New or Renewal—$100 
Restricted Firearms ID Card: Chemical Propellant Only—New—$25 
License to Possess a Machine Gun—$100 
 

Discounts 
Over 70 Years Old—Free 
Renewal of Restricted FID Card—Free 
Reading Police Officers—Free 
Other Law Enforcement Personnel—$25 
 
 

   
 

*** SEE THE FOLLOWING PAGE FOR INSTRUCTIONS ***  
 

Applications must be fully complete with the required attachments and 
enclosures in order to arrange an appointment for processing. Be advised, 
any person who knowingly files an application containing false information 
(including omissions of court appearances as a defendant) may be subject to fine or 
imprisonment pursuant to MGL c.140, §§ 129B(8) and 131(h). 
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Instructions for Applicants 
In addition to a completed and signed application, you will need to include several 
attachments at the time they submit their paperwork. Please select the type of applicant 
you are from the list below and include the relevant items with your application.  
 

● Applying for a License to Carry for the First Time 
● Renewing a License to Carry Originally Issued by another Municipality 

 
 
 
 
 
 

● Applying for the First Time or Renewing Any Regular Firearms ID Card 
● Renewing a License to Carry Originally Issued by Reading 

 
 
 
 
 

 
● Applying for the First Time or Renewing a Restricted Firearms ID Card 

 
 
 

 
● Applying for a License to Possess a Machine Gun for the First Time 

 
 
 
 

 
 
● Renewing a License to Possess a Machine Gun Originally Issued by Reading 

 
 
 

 
 

Note: Reference letters, where required above, must include the following of the reference: 
handwritten signature, date written, phone, residential address, e-mail address, and 
statements explaining relationship to the applicant, how many years known, and statement 
of support regarding the applicant’s suitability for the license. Letters not meeting this 
criteria will be rejected and will need to be resubmitted. 

 
Thank You In Advance, 

 
 
 

 
  Officer Justin Martel 
  Licensing Desk: (781) 942-6766 

 

□ Proof of Residency or Business Ownership 
□ Firearms Safety Course Certificate 
□ 3 Written Reference Letters (see next page for details) 
□ DD214 Paperwork if former military (if attainable) 
□ Bring Check or Money Order to the Appointment 

□ Proof of Residency or Business Ownership 
□ Firearms Safety Course Certificate 
□ DD214 Paperwork if former military (if attainable) 
□ Written Letter from Parent if under 18 
□ Bring Check or Money Order to the Appointment 

□ Proof of Residency or Business Ownership 
□ Written Letter from Parent 
□ Bring Check or Money Order to the Appointment 

□ Proof of Residency or Business Ownership 
□ Firearms Instructor Certificate or Bona Fide Collector Certificate 
□ 3 Written Reference Letters (see next page for details) 
□ DD214 Paperwork if former military (if attainable) 
□ Bring Check or Money Order to the Appointment 

□ Proof of Residency or Business Ownership 
□ Firearms Instructor Certificate or Bona Fide Collector Certificate 
□ DD214 Paperwork if former military (if attainable) 
□ Bring Check or Money Order to the Appointment 



Notice to License Applicants 
 

 

The Reading Police Department is statutorily authorized to submit fingerprints and receive identification 
records from the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s Criminal Justice Information Services Division (CJIS). 
If you are applying for a gun license, or certain Municipal Licenses referenced under Article 5.4 of the 
General Bylaws of the Town of Reading, your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history 
records of the FBI. These records, if any, will be considered in the determination to approve or deny the 
license for which you are applying. If you believe your Criminal History Summary contains inaccurate or 
incomplete information, you have two options for requesting a change or correction. 
 
 
 

Option 1: Contact the Agency that Submitted the Information to the FBI 
 

Missing or Incorrect State (Non-Federal) Information  
Most states, through agreement with the FBI, require that modification requests for Criminal History 
Summary information be processed through their respective state central repository (State Identification 
Bureau) before any update can be applied by the FBI to its record. You may contact the respective state 
repositories for assistance, and, if applicable, request that they provide the FBI with updates to your 
Criminal History Summary. Contact information for each state is provided on the State Identification 
Bureau listing. Several states maintain their own record system. Record updates are made at the state level 
only, so the FBI cannot modify its records. Instead, the FBI accesses the state’s system for authorized 
purposes to review the record. Contact information for states maintaining records at the state level is 
provided on the State-Maintained Records listing. 
 
Missing or Incorrect Federal Information 
For federal Criminal History Summary updates, the FBI must receive a request directly from the original 
arresting agency, from a court with jurisdiction over the arrest data, or from another agency with 
jurisdiction over the arrest data. 
 
 
 

Option 2: Send a Written Challenge Request to the FBI’s CJIS Division 
 
Written Challenge 
Your written request should clearly identify the information that you feel is inaccurate or incomplete and 
should include copies of any available proof or supporting documentation to substantiate your claim. For 
example, if your disposition information is incorrect or missing, you may submit documentation obtained 
from the court having jurisdiction over the arrest or the office prosecuting the offense. The FBI will contact 
appropriate agencies in an attempt to verify or correct challenged entries for you. Upon receipt of an official 
communication from the agency with jurisdiction over the data, the FBI will make appropriate changes and 
notify you of the outcome. You may submit a Criminal History Summary challenge to the FBI’s CJIS 
Division by writing to the following address: 

 

FBI CJIS Division 
Attention: Criminal History Analysis Team 1 
1000 Custer Hollow Road 
Clarksburg, WV 26306 



 
 
 

HELPFUL TELEPHONE RESOURCES 
 
 
 

Telephone 
● Firearms Record Bureau, PIN Retrieval—(617) 660-4722 
● Firearms Record Bureau, General Inquiries & Address Change—(617) 660-4782 
● Reading Police Department, Licensing Officer—(781) 942-6766 
● Division of Fish and Game, Hunting Information— (617) 626-1500 
 
 
 
 

HELPFUL ONLINE RESOURCES 
 
State Firearms Laws & Regulations 
www.mass.gov/eopss/firearms-reg-and-laws/frb/ 
 
 
Division of Fish and Game 
www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/dfg/dfw/ 
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