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Reading Police Department to Participate in Statewide Texting  
Enforcement Crackdown 

 
The Reading Police Department will join the 191 eligible Massachusetts law enforcement 
agencies in the national U Drive. U Text. U Pay. mobilization to crack down on motorists 
who text while driving.  The campaign, which combines traditional and innovative 
enforcement strategies, is funded by a federal grant administered through the Executive 
Office of Public Safety and Security’s Highway Safety Division (EOPSS/HSD) from the 
National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA).  The mobilization 
begins April 10, 2015 and continues through May 1, 2015.   
 
“Driving and texting is illegal and irresponsible.  People who break our state’s texting 
law will be stopped and fined.  If you drive and text, you will pay,” said Lieutenant David 
Stamatis.   
 
Texting while driving was outlawed in Massachusetts effective September 30, 2010.  
Adult drivers who write, send, or read electronic messages or browse the Internet while 
driving face a $100 fine for a first offense – even if the vehicle is stopped in traffic.  
Juvenile operators are entirely prohibited from using mobile phones and other electronic 
devices while driving, including to make phone calls.  The fine for a juvenile first offense 
is $100 and includes a 60 day license suspension and required completion of a driver 
attitudinal course.   
 
These costly violations underscore the danger inherent in the use of electronic devices 
while driving.  Nationally in 2013, there were 3,154 people killed and an estimated 
424,000 people injured in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers.    
 
According to the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute’s 2012 “Teen 
Driver Distraction Study,” 25% of teens respond to a text message at least once every 
time they drive.  20% of teens and 10% of parents admit that they have multi-message 
text conversations while driving. 
 
“Texting and driving requires motorists to take their eyes off the road, hands off the 
wheel, and mind off the task of driving.  It creates the proverbial ‘perfect storm’ for a 
crash, and no one has the right to put another person’s life at risk like that,” said Deputy 
Chief Mark D. Segalla. 
 
“It’s not that complicated: if you text and drive, we will see you, pull you over, and fine 
you.  We’re serious about enforcing texting laws,” said Lieutenant David Stamatis. 


