Firearms Licensing, Hunting & Pepper Spray
Licensing Authority: James W. Cormier, Chief of Police
Licensing Officer: Justin Martel
Licensing Desk: (781) 942-6766
Licensing E-Mail: email@example.com
Applying for an FID Card, Licence to Carry, or Pepper Spray
In order to apply for an FID Card, Licence to Carry or Pepper Spray you must complete and submit the following application:
Please Note: There remains a significant waiting period in firearms processing times in Reading and statewide.The typical processing time from when you review your application with the Licensing Officer to when you physically receive your license is currently about 5 months.
How Does the Process Work?
In order to apply for a license to carry, FID card or mace permit you must fill out the above application completely, honestly, and accurately and drop it off at the station marked to the attention of "Firearms Licensing Officer." Within several weeks you will be contacted to arrange for an appointment to come in and have your photographs and prints taken as well as have a final application uploaded into the state's MIRCS licensing system. Once uploaded into the MIRCS system a background check is completed which consists of a fingerprint record check conducted by the State Police and the FBI, a mental health check conducted by DMH, and a suitability and criminal records check conducted by the Reading Police Department. Based on the findings, applicants are either denied or approved and are formally notified of the outcome by mail. At the present time, processing from when you come in for your appointment to when you physically receive your license or your denial letter is taking about 5 months. As such, we strongly reccomend all renewals schedule an appointment 6 months in advance of their current expiration date.
When Are Appointments Conducted?
Appointments are generally conducted every Tuesday at 9:00 AM, 10:00 AM, 11:00 AM, 2:00PM and 3:00PM and occassionaly on Wednesday evenings at 6:00 PM, 7:00 PM, 8:00 PM, and 9:00 PM. Be advised, we are currently booking about 1 month out.
Hunting Licenses & Information About Hunting
The agency that regulates hunting in Massachusetts is the Division of Fisheries & Wildlife. The Division headquarters is located at 251 Causeway Street, Suite 400 in Boston and may be reached by telephone at (617) 626-1590. General questions regarding hunting licenes, technical hunting information, wildlife management areas, etc. should be directed at the Division.
The Massachusetts Enviornmental Police is the lead law enforcement agency relative to hunting and wild game and may be reached at (800) 632-8075. Emergencies or calls requiring immediate resolution should still be processed through the 911 system and a Reading police officer will respond.
Recommended Reading on Firearms & Mace Licensing
(especially. c.140 ss. 121 - 131P)
24 Hours per Day
7 Days per Week
365 Days per Year
Monday thru Friday
8:00 AM to 3:30 PM
To send an anonymous tip via text message to the Reading Police Department, text the keyword READINGPD and your message to 847411 (tip411).
15 Union StreetReading, MA 01867