When Boston Edison stopped its distribution lines at the Stoneham-Reading line, voters in Reading approved the establishment of an electric light plant on October 2, 1891. With $50,000 in bonds voted by the Town that year, the plans were laid. By 1895, under the direction of a three-member elected board, Reading Municipal Light Department (RMLD) began providing electricity to 81 customers and 123 street lamps in town.
Soon the surrounding towns of Lynnfield, Wilmington and North Reading requested power from the Town of Reading, having been without electric power because of the distance between the communities and the power sources. The Light Board was authorized to extend distribution lines to Lynnfield Center in 1909, North Reading in 1911 and Wilmington in 1912.
Today, RMLD services more than 29,000 residential and commercial customers. Today a five-member elected board and a professional staff of 70+ employees bring a broad scope of utility experience to RMLD’s daily operation and an up-to-date understanding of the evolving energy market, including renewable sources. Surveys show RMLD is rated highly by its customers for reliability, responsiveness and customer service.
|Coleen O'Brien||RMLD Director|